Prominent and Historic Buildings in the City of Yangon
Many of the old buildings in the city of Yangon, which were built during the early days of the British colonial period have passed through the ages and withstood onslaughts of earthquake, storms, heavy rains and natural disasters. These massive buildings, which have lasted so many decades, look as if it’s going to be still new to the public view.
Among the old buildings the following buildings are still durable with prestige and dignity:
1.The Yangon City Hall
The magnificent city hall is situated at the city centre nearest to the revered Sule Pagoda, the High Court building, the MahaBandoola garden, the Independent Monument, and the Union Bank. All Myanmar citizens are proud of this magnificent building because many foreign visitors have the honor of praise its wonderful and architectural design. The construction was completed in May 1936. Sir Archibald Cochrane, the then Governor of Burma, inaugurated the newly constructed city hall on 15th May of the same year. Many historic events took place in the city hall.
2.The Supreme Court (Chief Court)
It is situated on Phayre Street (now Panodan Street) and was constructed long before the Second World War. It lasted nearly 100 years. This massive building was formerly known to the public as the High Court. The Chief Justice of the Union and other justice made the final decision to accept or to reject the appeals against a decree or judgment passed by a lower court of law. It had consisted of two law courts, viz: the Supreme Court and the High Court. Historic events took place before the Supreme Court building. Members of the Dobamar Asi Ayone headed by Thakin Nu (the first Prime Minister of the Union of Burma) set fire on the British Union Jack flag in protest against the British colonial rules.
This old building is located on Sparks Street (now Bo Aung Kyaw Street), and it extends to the Juda Eiscal Street (now Thein Byu Road). It is a three-storied building and was constructed about over 100 years ago. It was the headquarters of the British bureaucratic administration in the British colonial period before the War. The Chief Secretary together with secretaries of the various ministries discharged their official duties in this building. After Myanmar regained her independence in 1948, the AFPFL, the Union Government and the Revolutionary Government had used this building as the administrative headquarters with various ministeries such as Ministeries of Home and Religious Affairs, Finance and Revenue, Information, Education, Health, Agriculture and Forest, Construction, Industry, Social Welfare, etc. and Office of the Inspector General of Police up to 1972.
A historic event took place on Sparks Street in front of the Secretariat on 20th December 1938. A large number of University students and High School students headed by the Rangoon University Student’s Union demonstrated the British Colonial Government in protest against the unjustly capture of two student leaders Ko Ba Hein and Ko Ba Swe at Magwe in central Myanmar by closing all the gates of the Secretariat thereby making the bureaucratic administrative machinery to be ceased temporarily. Judson College student leader Aung Kyaw succumbed to his injuries when he received the baton charges of the policemen. Hence, Sparks Street has become Bo Aung Kyaw Street in honor of the late student leader Aung Kyaw.
Another historic event took place on Saturday, the 19th July 1947 in the meeting room of the Secretariat. Our national leader and the Deputy Chairman of the Governor’s Executive Council U Aung San (Bogyoke Aung San) and his cabinet ministers died on the spot when the assassins of ex-premier Galon U Saw gunned down U Aung San and his colleagues with machine guns at 10:35 am while their cabinet meeting was in session.
4.The Parliament Building
It is a one-storied building at the center of the Secretariat. Its age is same as the Secretariat. This building, though it is small, had played a very important role in the struggle of the country’s independence.
On 16th June 1947, the architect of Independence Bogyoke Aung San proposed the fundamental guides of the Constitution to the Speaker of the Constituent Assembly.
On 4th January 1948 at 4:20 am the historic and grand ceremony of transfer of power was inaugurated in front of this building of the Union of Burma’s flag. On the same day after the transfer of power was held, the Constituent Assembly was convened with the declaration of Burma Independence by the first President Sao Shwe Thike.
The Union Government had convened the Chamber of Deputies with parliamentary meetings until General Ne Win assumed the state of power on 2nd March 1962. The Parliament together with the Supreme Court and High Court were abolished, the parliament building became the Head Office of the Central Security and Administrative Committee.
5.The Government Residency
It was on the wide and flat vacant plot between Ahlone Road and Winsor Road (now Shin Saw Pu Road) in the early days of the British colonial period. Since the early days before World War II, the successive Governors of Burma who reigned and ruled the whole country had stayed here up to 4th January 1948. At 8:00 a.m Sir Hubert Rance, the last Governor of Burma, left his Residency after attending the grand ceremony of lowering the British Union Jack flag from the flag post and hoisting the Union of Burma flag to the flag post together with President Sao Shwe Thike and the distinguished guests on the lawn in front of the residence. He went to the jetty along Ahlone Road, Prome Road, Commissioner Road, Montgomery Road, and Phayre Street to board the H.M.S Birmingham (the British frigate) which berthed at Phayre Street jetty. He bade farewell to the city dwellers on both sides of the road.
After the Myanmar Independence, Presidents Sao Shwe Thike, Dr. Ba U and Mahn Win Maung had stayed here throughout the parliamentary democracy period up to March 1962.
During the wartime in December 1944, War Minister Major General Aung San hosted a luncheon party to 300 young military students at primary level from the Mingaladon officer training school and urged them to view and observe all the floors of the four-storied building.
6.The Sorrento Villa
It is situated at No 361 on Prome Road (now Pyay Road) near the Hanthawaddy roundabout. It is a two-storied brick building. On 6th June 1947 Bogyoke Aung San, the Deputy Chairman of the Governor Executive Council, delivered a commemorative speech to rehabilitate the country from the state of war-torn Burma at the conference held in this building. The conference has been known to the public as the historic Sorrento Villa Project.
In 1947 the AFPEL Government established the Burma Translation Society (Sarpay Beikman) at the building. The Burma Translation Society had produced many library works of translation – the Encyclopedia Burmanica (Myanmar Swe Sone Kyan), the popular Science series (Ludu Theikpan Kyan), the Sarpay Beikman magazines, many educative books of arts and science subjects. In its spacious compound, a stage was constructed to celebrate the Sarpay Beikman literary awards giving ceremonies, every Friday cultural shows, Shwe Mann Tin Maung’s half-night performances.
7.The Rangoon College Building
It is one of the oldest buildings constructed long before the Second World War. It is situated on the Commissioner Road (now Bogyoke Aung San Road) in front of Rangoon General Hospital. It was constructed in the Year 1900 for Rangoon Colleague Students. The college students had attended the classes in this building before the university colleague buildings were not constructed at the present University Campus.
After the War, it was transformed into the State Teacher’s Training Colleague. Now it stands as Tuberculosis and Neurology hospital.
8.The Rangoon University Buildings
The present-day university campus was covered with a big forest in which hundred and thousand of wild animals inhabited. The size of the area was over 400 acres of land.
When the Rangoon University Act was enacted by Lt. Governor Sir Reginal Crackdock in December 1920, the University authorities cleared away the whole forest to build many modernized buildings of Convocation Hall, University Library, the office of principal, classrooms, and hostels to accommodate the colleague students.
The construction of these buildings took about eight years. During this period the college students had attended the classes at the Rangoon Colleague on the Commissioner Road in front of the Rangoon General Hospital. Lt. Governor Sir Harcourt Butler, the University Chancellor, celebrated a variety of festivities like gamblings, boat-racings, Myanmar boxing (known as “Our Day”) in the whole country to build the University building out of the University endowment fund and which was collected as revenues.
The construction work was completed only in the academic year 1931-32. There were two colleges on this campus. University College and Judson College. Judson College was administered by the American Missionary. The name “Judson” was given in honor of Dr. Judson who compiled the English-Burmese and Burmese-English Dictionaries in the earliest days of the British Colonial Period.
The campus extends from Inya Road along the Pyay Road up to the Hanthawaddy roundabout. The University Avenue divides the campus into northern and southern parts. The Chancellor Road leading to the convocation hall separates the campus into the eastern and western parts. The eastern part includes the University College, the University Library, Inya Hall, Innwa Hall, Sagaing Hall, Pinya Hall, Pegu Hall, Thaton Hall, Bagan Hall, the Rangoon University Student’s Union (RUSU), Gymnasium, the University sanatorium, Prome Hall, Tagaung Hall, Tekkatho Damaryone and B.O.C, College of Engineering. The western part includes the Judson College, Judson Chapel, Benton Hall, North Hall, and Wellington Hall.
Out of these buildings the convocation hall and the library were partially damaged, and Bagan Hall was burnt down to the ground during World War II.
9.The Teacher’s Training College
This building is situated on Pyay Road near the Hanthawaddy roundabout in front of the Burma Broadcasting Services (BBS). Science and Arts graduates from the University College and the Judson College attended this College for B.Ed, degree, and a diploma in Education.
It is a two-storied brick building, the front part which was heavily damaged by the Allied bombing during the War. After the war, it became the Faculty of Education under the Yangon University. A practicing school (from KG to 10th Standard) has been attached to this Faculty. Since 1964 the faculty has become the Institute of Education under the Ministry of Education.
10.The Medical College
It was constructed before 1930. It is a two-storied brick building and located at the corner of the Commissioner Road and Godwin Road (now Myoma Kyaung Lan). According to the Rangoon University Amendment Act, it had existed and affiliated to the Rangoon University. The groundbreaking ceremony took place at the vacant plot of land to build the medical college, and Sir Harcourt Butler, the then Governor of Burma and the University Chancellor laid the foundation stone on 2nd February 1927.
The construction of this building was completed in 1928. Before the Second World War, it had been known as the Medical College. After the war, it had become the Faculty of Medicine under the Rangoon University. Since 1964 it has become the Institute of Medicine (1) and later the University of Medicine (1). Since its establishment, it has produced tens of thousands of M.B, B.S graduate annually. Later, it has conferred the postgraduate degree M.S(Sc.) on the M.B, B.S degree holders.
11.The Rangoon General Hospital (RGH)
It is one of the oldest buildings ever built in Myanmar long before the Second World War and located on the Commissioner Road. It occupies the whole block between the Shwe Dagon Pagoda Road and Godwin Road (now Myoma Kyaung Lan). It is a three-storied building equipped with elevators. It has been instituted with an outpatient ward, a fever ward, cancer ward, cardiac surgery ward, pathology department, microbiology department, X-ray, Ultrasound and ECG department and lecture theatres for the third year, the final part (1) and part (2) medical students.
12.The Central Women Hospital
It is also one of the oldest buildings together with the RGH, long before World War II. It is located on St. John Road (now Min Ye Kyaw Swa Road). It is a three-storied brick building and equipped with elevators. In the former days, it had been known widely as Dufferin or Gymakhanar Hospital. Nowadays, it is known as the Central Women Hospital because the hospitals are intended solely for women given birth to children under the health care of obstetrics and gynecologists. It is the largest and the most modernized hospital in competition with the RGH in Myanmar.
13.The Row and Co.LTD
It is located at the corner of Dalhousie Street (now Mahabandoola Street) and Bar Street (now Mahabandoola Garden Street). It is a three-storied concrete building. It is a three-storied concrete building. It is near the city hall across the Bar street. During the British Colonial period, it was a department store owned by an English businessman. A variety of good imported from abroad was sold in retail to the customers at a fair price. It had been very popular as Row Co.Ltd until it was nationalized in March 1964. The Government of Burma Socialist Programme Party (BSPP) had used this building as the head of the Immigration and Manpower Department.
14.The Sein Brother (or) Waziya Building
It is situated in the middle block of Pansodan Street. It is one of the older three-storied building in the pre-war days. Before the Second World War, it had been very popular as Watson Department Store owned by an English merchant. Like Row Co.Ltd, it had sold a variety of goods imported from abroad to the customers at a fair price. After the war, its name was changed to waziya or Sein Brother Department Store owned by Myanmar Businessman U Tun Sein. It was also nationalized in March 1964. Throughout the BSPP Government, it has stood as the head office of Myanmar Insurance.
15.The Port Authority
This three-storied building is located at the corner of Pansodan Street and the Strand Road. It had been popularly known as the office of the port commissioner.
16.The Custom House
This three-storied building is situated on Strand Road between Pansodan Street and Sule Pagoda Road. It was constructed around 1900 and formerly known as the Customs House or the commissioner of custom duty. Nowadays, it stands as the Department of Custom Duty.
17.The Strand Hotel
This three-storied building is one of the oldest building in Rangoon and was built in 1902. Although this building has passed through 113 years, it is still going strong and firm. Since it is located on Strand Road, it is widely known as the Strand Hotel. The wedding reception ceremonies and the music concerts from abroad have been inaugurated at this Hotel. Before the Inya Lake and Thamada Hotels have not sprung up, the affluent persons took great pride when they held the wedding reception and shinpyu (novitiation ceremonies) at the city hall and the Strand Hotel.
18.The General Post Office
It has stood as the massive three-storied building and is located at the corner of the Spark Street (now Bo Aung Kyaw Street) and the Strand Road. It is one of the remnants of the British colonial period. It is constituted with the departments of the parcel, letter-sorting, letter-distribution, postage, dead letter, and many others. Nowadays, it is widely known as the Central Post Office.
19.The Aung San Stadium
Before the Second World War, it had been widely known as the BAA (Burma Athletic Association) Football ground. In those days the popular University College football team and the Burma Police football team had played with all-out effort to win a shield at this football ground. In 1934 the University College football team was awarded a shield for winning the match, against the Burma Police football team for three consecutive years.
After the war, its name was changed to the Aung San Stadium. The State and Division football teams, the Myanmar Selected football team vs the foreign football team played strenuously at this football ground. The track and field teams and football teams of universities and colleges participated in the annual events. In 1961, rows of sitting seat on the eastern side was abolished to celebrate the SEAP Game grandiosely and replaced with rows of the new seat made of concrete.
In December 1962, the American artiste had presented short plays with the title of “Holidays on Ice” on the manmade Piece of ice at the Centre of the Aung San stadium. The created a large piece of ice which lasted for many days and presented musical plays and short plays to the audience flavor and humorously. The audience was very much pleased with their music and actions. It was the first and only once performance on ice in Myanmar.
20.The Fire Brigade Building
The two-storied building with a very tall tower is located on the Sule Pagoda Road just opposite to the City hall. One can see which building is set on fire in the city of Rangoon from this tower. From this tower, Fire Fighting vehicle is placed stand by on the ground floor to go quickly and extinguish the burnt houses.
In 1959, a foreigner rode a motorcycle on the nylon rope joining between the top floor of the city hall and the roof of the fire brigade building. A large number of a pedestrian standing on the Sule Pagoda Road looked at his stunt with excitement and suspense.
21.The Police Court Building
Among the remnants of the British Colonial Period this massive and strong building is situated at the corner of the Sule Pagoda Road and the Strand Road. It had been constituted with various departments: viz office of the Additional Magistrate, the office of the superintendent of excise, the office of the revenue department, and so on. It was formerly known as the police court. Next, it had become the head Quarters of the Burma Socialist Programme Party and then the Head Quarters of the Lanzine Youth Central Organizing Committee.
22.The Bank Buildings
Bank buildings are located in the vicinity of the Sule Pagoda Road, the Merchant Street, and Pansodan Street and were constructed before the Second World War. Before 1988 the Union Bank of Burma had transected the banking business in the Sule Pagoda Road, downtown Yangon. Before nationalizing the foreign banks in march 1963, the Chartered Bank, the Imperial Bank of India, the Greenlay Bank and the Oversea Chinese Bank had been possessed by the foreign capitalists.
23.The Cultural Institute (Edifice)
It is a three-storied brick building and located on Pansodan Street. This magnificent building is adjacent to the Port Authority. Formerly, it was constituted with the Ministry of Culture, reading room of the Ministry of Information and the National Museum in which Thiha-thana Throne was housed.
24.The Inland Water Transport Board
It is a three-storied massive building and located on Pansodan Street, adjacent to the Cultural Institute. Formerly, it had been known to the public as the head office of the Ayeyarwaddy Flotilla Company. Nowadays, it had become the Head Office of the inland water transport board up to 2006.
25.The Central Telegraphic Office
It is located at the corner of Mahabandoola Road and Pansodan Street, adjacent to the High Court, is also three-storied building. Formerly, it was the head office of Telecommunication. As its ground floor, a post office has been established for the delivery and receipt of local and foreign letters and parcels.
26.The War Office
It is a three-storied building and located on Signal Pagoda Road (Alanpya Phayar Lan). During the British Colonial Period before the War, it had been used as an English Girls High School. After the war, it had become the head office of the Chief of Staff.
27.The Foreign Office
It was constructed on the vacant plot of Prome Road (now Pyay Road) and Newlyn Road (now Sakawar Street). It is a two-storied building carrying out the matters associated with foreign diplomats, UN Organizations, Myanmar Embassy abroad the diplomatic undertaking. It had been the Ministry of Foreign Affairs from 1948 to 2006. During the reign of AFPFL Government, an annex was built on the plot adjacent to the main building. The annex was popularly known to the public as the Prome Court and also as the Prime Minister Office. Before the Second World War, the building had been popularly known as Mento Minsin Club for high ranking British officers.
28.The Pegu (Bago) Club
It is located at the corner of Pyay Road and Sakawar Street, just in front of the Foreign Office across Pyay Road. It is a two-storied wooden building and is one of the old buildings where high ranking British officers had predominated before the Second World War. It had been temporarily used the Rangoon Command. Later, it had stood as the Head Office of the Controller of Military Accounts (C.M.A) up to 2006.
29.The Myoma National High School
The magnificent three-storied building was constructed at the corner of Godwin Road (now Myoma Kyaung Road) and Newlyn Road (now Sakawar Street) long before the Second World War. Since it is a modernized building with a many-tiered, spire-like roof, it is extraordinary and traditionally kept with Myanmar culture. It is a product of the first University Student Strike in 1920. After the Student’s boycott, many national high schools had sprung up the whole country. The Myanmar National High School is the one that appeared among them.
Prominent and patriotic minded Teachers like Sayagyi U Ba Lwin, Sayagyi U Aye Thwe, U San Htwar, U Aung Min, U Thein Han (Zagyi) and Myoma Sayahein had served as excellent teachers with a spirit of nationalism and brought up many intellectuals, and good civil servants.
Godwin Road was changed to Myoma Kyaung Road in honor of this school. At the back of the foreign office there appeared the Myoma Girl High School facing Sakawar Street.
30.The D.P.I Head Office
It was constructed on the vacant plot on the Shwedagon Pagoda Road long before the war. It is situated in front of the Jubilee hall which was demolished. It is a three-storied building painted with brick red color and had been used as the head office of the Director of Public Instructions (D.P.I) after the war.
The D.P.I had issued the directives of the educational policies and other instructions concerning about curriculum, examinations, and school budgets to all high schools, middle schools and primary school throughout the country. After the head office of the D.P.I had been shifted to the newly built six storied building on the Strand Road in late 1960, it becomes the head office of Agriculture.
31.The Chief Examiner Head Office
It is a three-storied building and located at the corner of Frazer Road (now Anawrahta Road) and Latha Street. Before the war, it had stood as St. Mary Girls High School. After the Myanmar Independence, it had been used temporarily as the men hostel for medical students. Since 1973 this building had become the head office of the chief examiner conducting the matriculation examination and middle school examination and other examination and issuing the exam results to the whole country.
32.The Chin Tsong Palace
It is situated at the corner of Kaba Aye Pagoda Road and University Avenue Road near the Kokine traffic signal point. It was constructed on the spacious vacant plot of land by Chinese architects and carpenters. It was decorated with Chinese fine arts without traditional Myanmar culture. At the back of this building, there is a tower attached with spiral stairs.
During the British time, a rich Chinaman Mr. Chin Tsong resided at this palace-like residence. This building has undergone so many changes during the last decades. During the WWII it was used as the government broadcasting station. After the Independence, it had become “Kanbawza Palace Hotel” with many rooms. When the hotel was closed down, it became a women hostel for university students. In 1973, it had become the Headquarters of the Lanzin Youth Organizing Committee for about ten years. It had also been used as the Department of Fine Arts under the Ministry of Culture. It now stands as the School for Arts of Painting and Wood and Ivory Curving.
33.The Scott Market (Bogyoke Aung San Market)
During the days of the British time round about 1920, two cinema halls – Elephant Stone and Cinema de Paris – were demolished and in the vacant plot, the Scott Market was constructed by the Rangoon Municipal Corporation. The name “Scott” was in honor of the then Municipal Commissioner Mr. Scott. During the War, the name changed to “Yan Naing Market”. After the war, it became “Bogyoke Aung San Market” in honor of our national leader.
It is a two-storied brick building equipped with a big clock at the front part. It has become very popular for the cleanliest and modernized market in the whole country.
34.The Theingyi Zay
It occupies both sides of the Shwedagon Pagoda Road between Anawrahta Road and Mahabandoola Road. As it was built near the Buddhist Great Ordination Hall – “Theingyi” (Sima) in Myanmar language – the name “Theingyi Zay” was called to that bazaar. Its original name was “Surati Bazaar” as it was built by an Indian company. It is composed of four sheds marked “A-Block”, “B-Block”, “C-Block” on the east of Shwedagon Pagoda Road and “D-Block” on the west. Every shed is crowded with buyers and vendors all the time.
“C-Block” was built with a clock tower which was blown up by Allied bombings during the War. In 1962 the new building was constructed and opened as State-owned Burma Departmental Store (BDS) inaugurated by Vice-chief of Staff (Air) Brigadier General T. Cliff on the 27th March 1963 – the Resistance Day. Since “D-Block” had become deteriorated, the Yangon City Development Committee (YCDC) demolished the whole building and constructed the most modernized market spending a large sum of money. The new market is the country’s first six-storied shopping complex with department stores, May Hwa Restaurant, Mingala Cinema Hall and so many shops.
35.The Iron Bazaar (Than Zay)
It is located along Godwin Road (now Lanmadaw Street) between Anawrahta Road and Mahabandoola Road. Lanmadaw Than Zay (Iron Bazaar) is widely known to every person.
As it is situated in Chinatown, most of the commodities in the market are Chinese foods. Every morning it is crowded with customers to buy vegetables, meat, and fish.
36.The Rangoon Railway Station
The largest railway station in the whole of Myanmar is located in front of the Aung San Stadium across the road. The station had been known to the public as “Kunchan” railway station before the WWII by the city dwellers referring to “Kunchan Bazaar” on the side of Pansodan Street. The newly constructed two-storied building was built after the war under the guidance of well-known Myanmar architect Sithu U Tin.
It is a railway junction of Pyay, Mandalay and Mawlamyine bound trains, communicating lower and upper Myanmar. There are ins and outs of suburban local trains at this station every day. It is alive with teeming crowds day and night.
37.The Burma Railway Head Office
This three-storied red building is situated at the corner of Bogyoke Aung San Road and Signal Pagoda Road facing toward the Central Hotel. It was the head office of administering all the railway stations, rail tracks, railway bridges, locomotive engine sheds, station masters and railway servicemen in the whole country.
Before and after the WWII, it had been the Head Office of Railway Commissioner of Burma. The first railway service was introduced in Myanmar in 1877 from Yangon to Prome (Pyay), under the name of the Irrawaddy Valley State Railways. The steam engine which was driven to and for Pyay-Yangon was displayed in 1977 in front of this building to commemorate the centenary of Burma Railway.
38.St. Paul High School
It is located on Anawrahta Road between Spark Street (now Bo Aung Kyaw Street) and Juda Eiscal Street (now Thein Phyu Street). Before it was nationalized in 1968, it had been the English High School popularly known as “European Code” under the supervision of Roman Catholic priests. It had stood as the most popular school among other saints high school in the whole country.
Constructed on the vacant plot of land, it is a three-storied building comprising a football ground and men hostel. After the nationalization of the schools, it has become No.6 State High School (Botahtaung) and successive principals were Myanmar nationals, like other Christians High Schools. A magnificent Roman Catholic Church was constructed in the school compound.
39.Saint John Convent High School
It is located as a two-storied building on Commissioner Road (now Bogyoke Aung San Road) in front of the Rangoon General Hospital. Before nationalization of the school, it had been girls high school under the supervision of Christian nuns, and daughters of high class and wealthy persons had attended this school. During the wartime, it had been used as the Rangoon University and the Teachers Training College for the academic year 1944-45. It now stands as No.2 State High School (Lather).
40.Methodist English High School (M.E.H.S)
It is one of the old buildings constructed before WWII. It is a three-storied building located on Signal Pagoda Road (now Alanpya Phaya Lan). Before the war, European and Myanmar children of well-to-do families attended this school.
At the beginning of the Japanese regime, this building was used as the Headquarters of Burma Independence Army. B.I.A Chief of staff Bo Tayza (Thakin Aung San) discharged official duties at this building temporarily. After the war, children of well-to-do families and high officials had attended this school under the supervision of English native teachers. It was known to the public as one of the best mission schools in Yangon. After nationalization of the school, it has become No.1 State High School (Dagon) which has been supervised by Myanmar headmasters and teachers.
41.The Government Printing Press
It is a three-storied building located at the corner of Anawrahta Street and Juda Eiscal Street (now Thein Phyu Street) in front of the Secretariat. Formerly, it had undertaken the job of printing official documents calendars and diaries of the ministries, Government offices, Boards, Corporations, Universities, and Colleges.
Before 1972, it had stood as the government printing press. In March 1972 according to the new administrative system when the Boards and Corporations were reconstituted it became the Printing and Publication Corporation (then Enterprise) under the Ministry of Information.
42.The AFPFL Headquarters
It is a two-storied small building situated in the compound of Churchill Road (now Komin Kochin Road) in Bahan Township. After the WWII this small building had been used as the Headquarters of the Anti-fascist Peoples Freedom League (AFPFL) which took part in the leading role of the struggle of our country’s independence. President of the AFPFL Bogyoke Aung San discharged his official duties and held many executive meetings with his executive members in this building.
After Independence, the Party in power had used this building as its headquarters continuously until it split into two factions – Swe Nyein and Nu Tin. A dispute arose between the two factions over the ownership of this building. Both agreed to cease the ownership, then, it had become the School for the art of painting and wood and ivory carving under the Department of fine arts, Ministry of culture. It now stands as the Gothe Institute of German Language and Culture.
43.The Bogyoke Aung San Museum
It is a two-storied building situated on a small hill in Tower Lane near Park Lane (now Natmauk Road) in Bahan Township. Before the WWII it was owned by a rich Chinaman. Our national leader Bogyoke Aung San and his beloved family had resided at this house. Bogyoke Aung San himself planted vegetable seeds in the yard behind the house. They lived here until he was assassinated together with his cabinet ministers on 19th July 1947 in the meeting room of the Secretariat. His second son Maung Aung San Linn was drowned in a pond near the house. After the bereaved family moved from the house it has become the Bogyoke Aung San Museum. We can see his personal effects as museum pieces on 19th July of every year as the museum opens to all to signify the Martyr’s day to commemorate our fallen leaders.
44.The Indian Embassy
It is a three-storied building located on Marchant Street. Formerly it had been used as the Greenlay Bank owned by the British capitalists. After the nationalization of private banks in March 1963, this building has become the Indian Embassy.
45.The Union Bank of Burma
It is a two-storied building located on the Sule Pagoda Road. Formerly, it had been the Union Bank of Burma under the Ministry of Finance and Revenue. When the Union Bank (later changed as Central Bank) was shifted to a new building near Saya San Road in Yankin Township, this building has become the Myawaddy Bank under the Ministry of Defense.
46.The Rangoon Development Trust
This magnificent four-storied building is situated on Bogyoke Aung San Road in front of St. Paul’s Cathedral. It had been widely known to the public as the Rangoon Development Trust. It had become the head office of Housing Board under the Ministry of Housing and then the Department of Town and Housing Development under the Ministry of Construction.
47.The Diamond Mineral Water Factory
It is a big factory situated on Keily Street (now Wadan Street) at West Yangon. Formerly, it had produced ice, ice-cream and a variety of mineral water. After the factory was nationalized, it was transferred to the Food-stuffs Corporation under the Ministry of No.1 Industry producing a variety of ice products and ice. Nowadays, it is the head office of Lwe Hein Co. Ltd. producing ice and a variety of mineral water.
48.The A. Scott Building (A. Scott & Co.)
The three-storied building is located on Merchant Road between 37th and 38th Streets facing the Sarpay Beikmann. Formerly, it had been the distribution and sale centers of “Sinalco” mineral water together with the head office of the Stevedore Supervising Board and other offices. Then, it had become the head office of Food-stuffs Corporation under the Ministry of No.1 Industry. Nowadays, it stands as the Myanmar Investment and Commercial Bank.
49.The Rander House
It is located as a five-storied building at the corner of Pansodan Street and Merchant Street. “Dawson Bank” and “Rander House” were inscribed on the portico of the ground floor of the building. The British Council had established its head office for a long time. Nowadays, it stands as the Department of Internal Revenue.
50.The Steel Brothers Building
It is a four-storied building located at Tsitke Maung Taulay Street (now Bosonpet Street). The Steel Brothers was the British capitalist company which had monopolized and exported the natural resources such as rice, teak, minerals, and petroleum from our country to foreign countries, especially to Great Britain. Later Governments used this building as the head office of the Trade Corporation No.5 (Textile) and later as the head office of Department Stores.
51.The B.O.C Head Office
It is a five-storied building located at No.604, Merchant Street between 31st and 32nd Streets. It was one of the greatest enterprises in British time as Burma Oil Company. After nationalization, it had been used as the head office of Myanma Oil Corporation (MOC) which was constituted with administration, finance, store, purchasing, oil exploration, production, engineering, and drilling departments. It had stood as the Myanma Oil and Natural Gas Enterprise under the Ministry of Energy.
52.The Petroleum Products Distribution Head Office
It is situated as a four-storied building at the corner of Merchant Road and Tsitke Maung Taulay Street (now Bosonpet Street). The Petroleum Products Supply Corporation (PPSC) had used this building to supervise petroleum and diesel pumps for distribution throughout the country. There was a branch office of Myanma Export and Import Corporation (MEIC) which controlled the whole international trading of the country. Somewhere at the ground floor, the Toshiba electronic service center was also opened.
53.The Head Office of Offshore Oil Exploration
It is located at the corner of Pyay Road and St. John Road (now Min Ye Kyaw Swa Road) as a three-storied building. This building had been used as a government office and corporation by successive governments. It had been used as the Union Purchase Board, the head office of Trade Corporation No.14 (Electrical Appliances) and the record office of nationalized buildings throughout the country and the head office of Offshore Oil Exploration. Now the Ministry of Health renovated this building for extending the Yangon General Hospital with special wards.
54.The Avery Building
It is located on Merchant Street between Bosonpat Street and 30th Street. It is a four-storied building with the inscription of “Avery” on its front entrance. It was named so, as it was the whole sales agency of the famous “Avery” brand weighing machines. There are Myanmar Economic Bank No.4 and First Private Bank on the ground floor.
55.The Red-Cross Building
It is a four-storied building located at No.42 on the Strand Road. The Myanmar Red-Cross Society has used this building as its head office together with other government departments such as the Department of Myanmar German Fertilizer purchasing, Distribution and planning, the Agricultural Corporation, the head office of Trade Corporation No.6 (Household Appliances) and the Department of Relief and Resettlement.
56.The Shwe Bon Thar Police Residence
This three-storied building is situated at the corner of Bogyoke Aung San Road and Mogul Street (now Shwe Bon Thar Street). It occupies nearly half of the upper block of Shwe Bon Thar Street between Anawrahta Road and Bogyoke Aung San Road. Formerly, as the street was named Mogul Street and the building resided by families of police officers was called “Mago Lan Gat” (Mogul Street Police Station) with reference to the street. Nowadays, nearly the whole building is occupied by Super 1 Department Store, the American Vision Eyes Hospital and J Donut snack shop.
57.The Electric Supply Board (E.S.B) Head Office
In this E.S.B compound, there are old one-storied and new three-storied buildings located in the lower Kyeemyindaing Road, Ahlone Township. At the front part of the building was erected a neon signboard with the motto “Let us build a paradise on earth with electricity”. It was changed to a new name “Electric Power Corporation” (E.P.C). E.P.C has changed again to Myanma Electric Power Enterprise (M.E.P.E). Lawpita Hydroelectric Power station together with the works relating to electric power production and distribution in the whole country has been placed under the control of this head office. This building retained its new name up to the present day.
58.The De Suza Medicine Shop
A three-storied building is situated at the corner of Maha Bandoola Raod and Bosonpat Street. Formerly, it had been used as the wholesale and retailed shop of medicines imported from western countries. In those days it had been very popular with an advertisement “Medicines of de Suza be best assured”. After nationalizing all private companies in the whole country, a big green signboard bearing the white words in Burmese “People’s shop No.9999” was placed on the portico of the building. Later, the Trade Corporation No.14 (Electrical Appliances) had used this building as its head office. Now it stands as Myanmar Telecommunication Enterprise’s branch office.
59.St John’s Diocesan Girls High School
It is a three-storied mission school built before the WWII and located at the corner of Bogyoke Aung San Road and Shwedagon Pagoda Road with the Roman Catholic Church in the compound. Children of well-to-do families had attended the classes from KG to 10th standard. After nationalization of the mission schools, it has become No.1 B.E.H.S (Pabedan Township).
60.St. John’s Diocesan Boys High School
This missionary school was three or four separated three-storied buildings. It has a spacious compound comprising main school buildings, a church, a football ground, and a hockey ground. These buildings were constructed long before WWII and located on St. John Road (now Min Ye Kyaw Swa Road). After nationalizing the schools, it has become No.1 B.E.H.S. The school has become very popular for producing many gifted students.