Sagaing Region

Sagaing Hill
Sagaing Hills photo taken by Mr. Soe Thu Aung

Sagaing Region

The Sagaing Region lies at a vital place and is bordering India, Nagaland, Manipura and Chin State on the west of it, on the east are Kachin State, Shan State, and Mandalay Region. It also shares the common border on the south with Magway Region. The northern part of the Sagaing region is mountainous and the ranges are high. On the south are low ranges and plains.

The widest plain in the region is Shwebo Plain which is below the Mu River Valley. On the north is Patkwaing range which rises above 10,000 feet and on the south, it lowers down gradually. Taung-thone-lone mountain which lies at the headwaters of Mu river is over 5,000 feet high and it is an extinct volcano. Min Wun range on the west side of Ayeyarwady river joins on the south with Sagaing range which is only about 500 feet high. Main rivers are Ayeyarwady, Chindwin, and Mu.

Sagaing region which extends from north to south has different physical features and different climates. Two-third of the north has less hot climate while the lower one-third of it is in the hot zone. On Patkwaing and Naga ranges, the temperature usually drops below Zero ’C in winter and rather cold in summer. The southern part which lies in the dry zone has a very hot climate.

The estimated urban population is more than one million and the rural population is five million in the Region. Sagaing Region covers 93527 (36535 sq.miles), it is the largest among seven regions.

The region possesses natural resources, biodiversity, and fertile soil.

  • The single and the best quality jade, gold, copper deposits, industrial raw materials, shallow petroleum reserves, teak, and other hardwoods
  • Agricultural products such as rice, wheat, sesame, peanut, cotton, tobacco,
  • Geologically significant extinct volcanos, maar lakes,
  • well known Stone Age or Neolithic and Bronze cultural heritages,
  • Religious and Archaeological sites

are situated in Sagaing Region.

According to the chronicle of Myanmar History since 1278 at which Bagan dynasty had ended the North Eastern part of Myanmar was controlled by Sagaing Dynasty from 1315 to 1364, by King of Ava from 1364 to 1555, by King Taungoo from 1555 to 1752, before annexation by British in 1885 Konbaung Dynasty ruled the region from 1752 to 1885. Just after Independence in 1948, the government designated as Sagaing Division.

In the Sagaing Region, there are Sagaing District, Shwebo District, Monywa District, Kathar District, Kalay District, Tamu District, Mawlike District, and Hkanti District are included. Monywa which the Chief Minister’s office is located is situated at the eastern bank of Chindwin River in Central Myanmar and 136 kilometers away northwest of Mandalay. Monywa can be reached by car, by train, by boat and by air from various places in Myanmar.

In Monywa, day temperature during April and May sometimes rises to 110’F. Annual rainfall in the north is between 80” to 100” and in the south is below 40”. Bamar people mostly live in Kathar and in areas along the Mandalay-Myitkyina route. Shan people are found in upper Chindwin river valley and Kawlin, Wuntho and Pinlebu townships. On the northwest ranges there live Nagas people and Chin people on the south. In the upper Mu river valley and Mezar river Valley, there live Kadu and Kanan people.